YAPI built-in privacy and security features protect private and sensible information and prevent unauthorized access.


To setup Security and Privacy on your mobile device, go to Configuration tab and scroll down to Security and Privacy section.




Shared Secret


Shared Secret provides an added layer of security and is used for authentication of mobile devices that run YAPI. In other words, when this option is set, a mobile device running YAPI wont be able to access any patient’s or practice information unless a proper shared secret string is set on a device even if a device is authenticated on a wireless network.


To setup a Shared Secret for mobile devices, launch YAPI on PC, go to Global Setup,Options tab, Mobile YAPI section, and set Shared Secret string



When device authentication fails, an error is shown and iPad screen is locked.




Note that since YAPI uses challenge-response authentication method a shared secret is not transmitted over the network.


Password


When a Password string is set, YAPI will require a user to provide a password when Configuration, Huddle, Care Call tabs are accessed, or when a user attempts to open patient’s detailed information or patient’s documents.


YAPI locks the screen and opens the following page



The screen will be locked until a proper password is presented.


Please note that

  • Each mobile device has its own password
  • YAPI doesn’t provide ability to reset a password. You will need to remove and reinstall YAPI on an iPad if you forgot the password.
  • YAPI provides an audible alert when an invalid password is used.
  • A trusted user can temporally disable password protection till YAPI restarts on a mobile device.

Disable Password


This feature allows a trusted user to temporally disable password protection till YAPI restarts on a mobile device. This feature is useful when a provider or other trusted user performs multiple password protected actions like accessing multiple patient documents. A trusted user is a someone who provided a valid password in a current session.

Note that to re-enable password protection you need to push Home button to terminate current session or simply return back to Configuration tab and un-select Disable Password option.


Show Patient’s Last Name on Dashboard


When this option is on patients’ name wont show up on Dashboard.


Show Appointment Details on Dashboard


When this option is on patients’ appointment details wont show up on Dashboard.


Show patient Information


This option specifies whether patient’s detail information is available on Dashboard and whether password protection is required to access patient’s details.



Note if Password option is selected YAPI will display Lock icon next to Details in patient’s menu.



Password Protection for Dashboard


This feature sets whether a password is required to access the Dashboard


Password Protection for Documents


This feature sets whether a password is required to open an existing or create a new patient document.


Password Protection for Tabs


This feature sets whether a password is required to view Messenger, Huddle, Care Call, Tools.


Password Protection for Alerts


This feature sets whether a password is required to open an existing or create a new patient alert.


Disable Messaging


You may want to prevent YAPI messages from showing up on iPad. To disable messaging, scroll to Messenger section and select DND (Do Not Disturb)



In typical scenario, you enable password protection for the Dashboard and set Disable Tabs When Signing Document option in Dashboard section. In such a case, an unauthorized access to patient’s private and health information is not possible.